Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon // Book Review

Hello! How are you? I hope you’re well. Sorry for being so MIA lately, I’ve been settling into my new school and it’s just been so hectic. Today I am going to be giving my thoughts on Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon.

6cbca6d9

everything everything.jpg

 

Author: Nicola Yoon 

Number in series: Standalone

Publishers: Corgi Books

Genres: Young Adult, Fiction, Contemporary, Romance

Rating: 3.5/5 stars

Goodreads synopsis:
My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.
But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.
Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

6cbca6d9

I have some mixed feelings about Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon. I really liked the idea of the plot – the sickness, the bubble, Maddy’s mother, Maddy’s family situation, Olly’s family situation. I guess I had high hopes for this one, probably too high.

Don’t get me wrong, I loved the book. I really enjoyed it, but just wasn’t as spectacular as the hype made it out to be or it just didn’t meet my expectations.

I really enjoyed the writing style. Nicola Yoon has a very beautiful way of stringing words together. The way she brought Maddy’s voice to life was really wonderful and easy to read. Although, I did find Maddy sounded a bit childish and annoying at times, but other than that I really did love the writing. The little illustrations were also quirky and added that little something to the story.

I liked the characters, but they weren’t particularly exceptional. I liked Olly, Maddy, and Carla. I just wasn’t all that attached to them. They were a bit too simple, not much depth to them. I was hoping for a bit more exploration into Maddy’s mum, but that didn’t happen, unfortunately.

The plot was really easy to follow and reasonably paced, with the perfect amount of drama and romance. All the themes within Everything, Everything, were perfectly balanced.

I really don’t have anything bad to say about Everything, Everything, just that it wasn’t exactly exceptional. In one word to describe how I feel about it is, ‘meh’. It wasn’t horrible, but it wasn’t exactly phenomenal.

6cbca6d9

That’s about it! I wanted to add some photos I took but, I couldn’t find the time and I missed posting too much! Thanks for reading, let me know your thoughts on Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon, do you agree? Or disagree? Remember, it’s okay to disagree, everyone is entitled to their own opinion!

I’ll see you in my next post!

Where else you can find me…
Twitter // Instagram // Goodreadsend card.jpeg

 

2 thoughts on “Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon // Book Review

Leave a Reply

