Hollow City by Ransom Riggs // Book Review

Hello! How are you all? I hope everyone had a good Easter weekend, to those who celebrate it! Sorry for not posting yesterday, and I probably won’t get to posting tomorrow, therefore I am posting today!

Today, I am going to be discussing my thoughts on Ransom Rigg’s, Hollow City, the second book in the Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children series. Let’s get going!

6cbca6d9

hollow city.png


Authors:
 Ransom Riggs

Number in series: #2

Publishers: Quirk Books

Genres: Young Adult, Fiction, Fantasy, Paranormal

Rating: 5/5 stars

Goodreads synopsis:
Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children was the surprise best seller of 2011—an unprecedented mix of YA fantasy and vintage photography that enthralled readers and critics alike. Publishers Weekly called it “an enjoyable, eccentric read, distinguished by well-developed characters, a believable Welsh setting, and some very creepy monsters.”

This second novel begins in 1940, immediately after the first book ended. Having escaped Miss Peregrine’s island by the skin of their teeth, Jacob and his new friends must journey to London, the peculiar capital of the world. Along the way, they encounter new allies, a menagerie of peculiar animals, and other unexpected surprises.

Complete with dozens of newly discovered (and thoroughly mesmerising) vintage photographs, this new adventure will delight readers of all ages.

6cbca6d9

hollow city 1Hollow City is an epic sequel to Rigg’s Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. It was engaging and creative. I don’t know what it is about this series but, it isn’t necessarily action-packed but it keeps sucking you back in for more.

Hollow City follows Jacob, Emma and all their peculiar pals through dangerous terrain, trying to find an ymbryne to help them bring Miss Peregrine out of her bird form.

From a peculiar menagerie to a travelling gipsies, Jacob and his friends travel across Wales to London in search of Miss Wren, in hope of healing Miss Peregrine. They encounter many dangers along the way including many wights and hollows.

It had been awhile since I finished the first book, and I forgot how original and enticing Peculiardom is. The use of photographs just made the story so much more visual. The concept is just so unique.

One of the main things that make this novel so unique is the abilities of children are so different, they aren’t your common powers that you read about, for example; Hugh having bees living in his stomach, Claire having a mouth at the back of her head and Enoch being able to bring back the dead for a short period of time.

Which is why I like Jacob, he isn’t ‘the most powerful peculiar in hundreds of years’. He’s just an awkward teenager that loved his Grandpa so much. Jacob was just thrown into Peculiardom and has his own peculiarity that he’s still learning how to control/use.

The plot was really well driven it was really cool to travel to different loops and meet other peculiars and here stories about other loops.hollow city 2

One of the problems I had with Hollow City, was that I was so confused as to what happened in the movie and the previous book. Side note: I was no impressed by the movie adaptation of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. Everything was completely different, the things they changed was so unnecessary and the acting was so weird. I realise it was a Tim Burton film, but the acting was just really bad, I don’t even know if it was meant to be like that or not. Anyway, moving on, it took me a while to work out what actually happened in the book and what the producers/creators just added into the movie.

Another problem I have is Emma and Jacob’s relationship, it can be rather disturbing at times. Emma is like, a 70-year-old woman inside a teenager’s body. Yes, their relationship can be cute and sweet a times, but then I remember that she’s an old lady.

The ending had me so shook. It took an amazing turn and I need the next one ASAP. I was really happy with where this book went and to follow the peculiars around London. I am super excited to see what happens in Library of Souls!

6cbca6d9

I think that is all I have to say about Hollow City by Ransom Riggs, I was very happy with this one and I can’t wait to see where the next book takes me! I’ll see you all on Friday!

Where else you can find me…
Twitter // Instagram // Goodreads
Riana, Fictional worlds & mE.jpg

8 thoughts on “Hollow City by Ransom Riggs // Book Review

  1. oooh enjoy Library of Souls! I actually thought it was my favourite of the three, that basically never happens with a trilogy! I’m with you on the film, I refused to see it when I realised they had cut/amalgamated one of the main characters…why?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I’m looking forward to it!
      It’s really not worth it in my opinion, the cinematography & settings are beautiful, if your into that, but the plot is just completely different. There was no need to swap Emma & Olive’s peculiarity! There is so many other changes that just aren’t necessary!
      Sorry, I’m just the type of person that believes that a movie adaptation of a book has to be exactly the same, just like the author intended.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

