Things That Annoy A Reader // Bookish Pet Peeves

Hello to you lovely humans! I hope everyone had a good weekend, I had a friend’s 18th birthday party on the weekend, and I may or may not have been rather hungover on Sunday…

Anyway, today I am going to list some bookish pet peeves that get on all our nerves. Let’s get started…

6cbca6d9

➳ When you have different book covers in a series
I’m a big one for this, and I hate it. Most of the series I own have mismatching covers, but where I live there is very limited choice, so I really just have to make do with what is available to me.Related image

➳ When book ⇒ movie adaptations aren’t the same
Nothing grinds my gears as much as when the movie completely butchers the book. Don’t even get me started on the adaptations of the Divergent series or The 5th Wave. confused chloe

➳ When the movie posters are book covers
This can be rather annoying, but sometimes the publishers manage to pull it off. No GIF - Find & Share on GIPHY

➳ People who are careless with books
Nothing gets me more upset than when people don’t look after their books. Yes, some of my own books are getting rather old and worn out, but it’s mainly from being read over and over again! You don’t want to see my Harry Potter series, I think I need to treat myself with a new set…Image result for reaction gifs tumblr judging you

➳ Stickers on the covers
It’s so annoying when you go to take the price sticker or some other kind of sticker off the cover of your books, and it comes off in tiny little bits. So frustrating. Image result for reaction gifs tumblr frustrating

➳ Bending/creasing the spine 
When you try so hard to read a new book, without bending the spine and it just happens over time…the worst feeling. Image result for reaction gifs tumblr angry

➳ Spillage on the pages
If you’re clumsy like me, it’s rather risky to eat or drink anything while reading a book. I’ve been lucky with having no major water/cups of tea spill on my books but, I am one to forever drop my food on the pages, like a big ‘ole greasy pizza slice. Not the best.Image result for reaction gifs tumblr frustrating

➳ Spoilers
I hate spoilers so much. There is nothing worse than when you’re reading a book and you encounter a spoiler. Most of the time I spoil it for myself, I would be reading and I would reach the end of a chapter and my eyes would just quickly pan to the bottom of the page and BAM! spoiler alert. Image result for reaction gifs tumblr angry

➳ Dog ear-ing the pages
My Mum is the worst for this, I have given her so many bookmarks, but no, she still likes to fold the corners of the pages down to mark her page. Amateur. Image result for reaction gifs tumblr angry

➳ Lack of choice in bookstores
I live at least 2 hours away from my closest decent bookstore, so when I said I have to take what is available to me, I really don’t take it for granted. But, the bookstore I do go to, there isn’t a lot of cover or edition choices which can be a little annoying. Especially, when I’m looking for a particular book, with a particular cover. I would do online shopping more often, but shipping in Australia is just so expensive! Image result for reaction gifs tumblr angry

6cbca6d9

Well, that’s it! Let me know if you agree with these pet peeves, or if you don’t! I would love to read your thoughts in the comments! Bye!

Where else you can find me…
Twitter // Instagram // Goodreads

Riana, Fictional worlds & mE.jpg

3 thoughts on “Things That Annoy A Reader // Bookish Pet Peeves

Leave a Reply

