Book Review // The Fever Code by James Dashner

Hello, everyone! And happy Monday! Or Sunday, depending on where you are in the world. Today I am going to be discussing The Fever Code by James Dashner, the last and final book in The Maze Runner series. Let’s get started!

6cbca6d9

 

fever code.jpgAuthors: James Dashner

Publishers: Delacorte Press

Genres: Young Adult, Science – Fiction,

Rating: 5/5 stars

Goodreads synopsis:
Once there was a world’s end.
The forests burned, the lakes and rivers dried up, and the oceans swelled.
Then came a plague, and fever spread across the globe. Families died, violence reigned, and man killed man.
Next came WICKED, who were looking for an answer. And then they found the perfect boy.
The boy’s name was Thomas, and Thomas built a maze.
Now there are secrets.
There are lies.
And there are loyalties history could never have foreseen.
This is the story of that boy, Thomas, and how he built a maze that only he could tear down.
All will be revealed

6cbca6d9
To start with, I was rather hesitant to read this one, as I had come to the conclusion I had made my peace with this series. When I finished The Kill Order, about 3 years ago, I was ready to put to rest my anger and sadness about The Maze Runner series, but then Dashner announced The Fever Code, I wasn’t entirely sure whether I would read it at all. I will say, though, because it has been ages since I finished The Death Cure, I can’t honestly remember the issues I had with the way it ended or the questions I had about it.

Nonetheless, I bought the book when I saw it in my closest bookstore, and I loved it! It brought back so many memories and elements that I had completely forgotten about, it was like reading and discovering the world for the first time all over again. As well as bringing back all the good things, reading The Fever Code also opened the door to all my suppressed emotions about the universe James Dashner has created.

Speaking of suppressed emotions, reading The Fever Code, reminded me how much I care for these characters, Thomas, Newt, Alby, Minho and Chuck. My heart just goes out to all of them. You learn so much about Thomas and Theresa’s past and you get a small snippet of Newt’s past, which is just so heartbreaking. the maze runner.jpg

WICKED made me so mad. I was getting so angry about the way WICKED and it’s employees, like Randall, treated Thomas. They talked to him with no emotion, to them Thomas was just a number. It was just so sad to read about.

It has been so long since I read the last The Maze Runner series, that I had kind of forgot some of the characters, mainly only the characters that were involved with WICKED or who were WICKED employees. I struggled with which characters I’ve already met and which ones are new to the story.

That is really my only problem with the story, but that is down to my own fault for having a really bad memory when it comes to books. Other than that I really loved The Fever Code, it answered all the questions about the dystopian futuristic world and about Thomas and his friends, but it did leave some other questions open to the imagination.

In my opinion, The Fever Code brings some closure to the series and I would recommend this novel to anyone who loves or has read The Maze Runner series.

6cbca6d9

So, that is about it! Let me know if you’ve read The Fever Code and what are your thoughts are about it, and I’ll see you all on Wednesday for my next blog post! Riana, Fictional worlds & mE.jpg

Leave a Reply

