Book Review // Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur

Hey! I hope everyone had a lovely weekend and is looking forward to the week ahead. Today I am going to be doing a mini – review of milk and honey by Rupi Kaur.

6cbca6d9

milk-and-honey.jpg

Author: Rupi Kaur

Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing

Genre: Poetry, Feminism, Non-fiction

Rating: 5/5 stars

Goodreads synopsis:
milk and honey is a collection of poetry and prose about survival. It is about the experience of violence, abuse, love, loss, and femininity. It is split into four chapters, and each chapter serves a different purpose, deals with a different pain, heals a different heartache. milk and honey takes readers through a journey of the most bitter moments in life and finds sweetness in them because there is sweetness everywhere if you are just willing to look.

6cbca6d9

milk and honey 2.jpegI loved this book! Having seen this book everywhere and I was determined to read it, whether it was worth the hype or not, and my gosh, it was.

Rupi’s writing is so honest, raw and inspiring. From the hurting to the healing to the delicate illustrations, milk and honey opened my eyes to poetry in a new way. Having not actually read a poetry book before, only reading snippets from other content creators like Orion Carloto and McKenna Kaelin. I  was so excited when milk and honey came in the mail last week, I read it in one sitting.

I pretty much have every page tagged by sticky notes, whether the stanzas were relatable or I just liked them. I honestly wished I had this 2 years ago when I was going through my milk and honey 3.jpegown heartbreak and some of the things Rupi wrote would have perfectly described the situation I was in.

‘The healing’ is probably my favourite chapter because it is mainly about feminism and women empowerment, which is what I’m all about. Rupi has such a powerful voice for women and I was so glad I went on this journey with her throughout milk and honey.

Here are some of my favourite poems from the book;

you tell me to quiet down cause
my opinions make me less beautiful
but i was not made with fire in my belly
so i could be put out
i was not made with a lightness on my tongue
so i could be easy to swallow
i was made heavy
half blade and half silk
difficult to forget and not easy
for the mind to follow

page 30

if you were born with
the weakness to fall
you were born with
the strength to rise

page 156

my heart aches for sisters more than anything
it aches for women helping women
like flowers ache for spring

page 187

6cbca6d9

I guess that’s about all I have to say about milk and honey by Rupi Kaur in this mini-review, apart from that I loved reading the poems and prose and I am looking forward to reading more of Rupi’s works or just more poetry in general.

I hope you enjoyed this post and thanks for reading it, let me know if you’ve read milk and honey or let me know some other good poetry books! Bye!

Riana, Fictional worlds & mE.jpg

One thought on “Book Review // Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur

Leave a Reply

