The Mortal Instruments Series Review

shadowhunters blogpost 2.jpg

Hello! How are you all today? It has constantly been 40°C (104°F) everyday here in Australia and I fell like I’m melting. Anyway, today I would like to discuss Cassandra Clare’s series, The Mortal Instruments. This post is so overdue, but here we go.

*MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS*


6cbca6d9

Now, here’s some background information. I’ve had The Mortal Instruments on my mental reading list for years, then my sister got the series over Christmas 2015 and her birthday last year and has been on my back to read them ever since.

I finished City of Heavenly Fire this month and I am an empty void that has soaked up everything I could about the Shadowhunter universe.

I fell in love with the books slowly but quickly at the same time, the first book took me a while to get into, as I had already seen the movie and it took me a while to get my head out of the movie and into the book. I feel like if I had read them when the books first came out I would of enjoyed it more, I got to the point where I was bit tired of the vampire/werewolf idea. I kept telling my sister that if a vampire is not Stefan or Damon from The Vampire Diaries, I don’t care. But, in saying that, by City of Glass, I was head over heals for the Shadowhunter world and the golden aura that is Jace.

I loved everything about this series, one thing in particular was the diversity of the characters; a gay Shadowhunter, a gay warlock of Asian background, a vampire of Spanish background. It was just so cool to read a book that wasn’t just about straight white people.

I found Cassandra Clare’s writing and themes are so much more relevant to today then they were 10 years ago (wow). For example, the issue with Robert not accepting Alec as   being gay, ‘forbidden love’ betwshadowhunters blog post 1.jpgeen Jace and Clary, as well as Clary and Sebastian, the discrimination against Downworlders’ as being the ‘lower race’.

I also loved how there was so many different POVs happening all at once in the later books and how they all came together in the end chapters, ready for the explosion that is the last 10 pages.
6cbca6d9

I loved all the characters, I think everyone brought there little something to the story. I learnt very quickly that every character you meet is there for a reason, and not just a background character. Every character became important in one way or another. I love Magnus, he is so interesting, funny and despite his badass vibes he cares for Alec so much as well as Clary, Jace, Simon and Izzy for Alec. I’m so excited for The Bane Chronicles and The Infernal Devices to learn more about Tessa and Zachariah. Emma and the Blackthorns stole my heart. It was only the prologue of City of Heavenly and I was already crying over the tragedy that happened in Emma and Julian’s life, which also makes me excited for The Dark Artifices.

*MAJOR SPOILER*

I think City of Heavenly Fire ended beautifully, and left so much open for the prequels, spin off sequels, and the imagination. Simon and Izzy broke my heart, I just felt for Izzy so much, but my heart burst when he started getting some of his memory back and is going to become a Shadowhunter. I was so happy that Jace decided to take the Herondale name, because I see Jace as a Lightwood by heart but a Herondale by blood.
6cbca6d9

I think that’s all I had to say about this incredible series. Thank you to Cassandra Clare and my sister, Kaley for introducing me to this magical world of the Shadowhunters. Let me know your thoughts on this amazing series and I’ll speak to you all in my next post!

Cheerio!

– Riana xxend picture 3.jpg

Leave a Reply

